McCarthy passes House gavel to Pelosi as she becomes Speaker of the House


After eight years as House Minority Leader, Democrat Nancy Pelosi is the Speaker of the House again.

Pelosi was elected speaker Thursday morning, while Bakersfield Congressman Kevin McCarthy who was House Majority Leader, becomes the House Minority Leader for the 116th Congress.

Democrat Steny Hoyer of Maryland becomes the new House Majority Leader.

Pelosi is the only woman who has held the office of House Speaker, now she becomes one of a few officials to return to it.

McCarthy handed Pelosi the speaker’s gavel at a ceremony Thursday.

“In the spirit of a more perfect union, and in the unshakable belief that America was, is and always will be the greatest nation on the face of the Earth. And in that spirit, I extend my hand of friendship to every member of this body. And to the Speaker of the House, Nancy Pelosi, I extend to you this gavel.”

Pelosi served as speaker from 2007 to 2011 and received 220 votes in a vote among House members.

It’s the first time in more than 50 years that someone was re-elected as Speaker of the House.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest News

More Local News