CSUB’s 10th annual ROWDYs winners announced

Local News

BAKERSFIELD, Calif. (KGET) — The CSU Bakersfield Athletics Department announced the winners for the 10th annual ROWDYs awards on Tuesday. The awards honored the best of the Roadrunners throughout the 2020-21 season. The ceremony was held virtually.

Here is the list of winners:

Golden Circle

The Golden Circle is the highest honor bestowed upon a CSUB undergraduate scholar-athlete serving in a leadership role. The award is reserved annually for scholar-athletes, sprit squad and band members who have shown integrity and achievement through leadership activities, community involvement, participation in campus life, sports participation and scholarship while attending CSUB.


Andie Easley Basketball
Vanessa Austin Basketball
Emily Hansen Beach Volleyball
Aaliyah Beed  Cheer
Noemi Salazar Dance
Allie Crawley Golf
Jordan Martinez Soccer
Samantha MartinezSoftball
Maya Valdoria  Swimming & Diving
Hannah WalkerTrack & Field
Jazleigh OrtizVolleyball


Tyler Jorgensen  Baseball
Justin McCall   Basketball
Tom Shepherd Soccer
Noah HickmanSwimming & Diving
Corbin Chronister  Track & Field
Jacob Sieder  Wrestling
Dominic Ducharme Wrestling

Newcomer of the Year

Honors the first-year contributions of any male and female freshman, redshirt freshman, or transfer scholar-athlete that has a standout year while producing results for their respective teams.


Miranda Miller                                                  Women’s Track & Field


Shaun Williams                                                  Men’s Basketball

AD’s Make A Difference Award

Presented by Athletics Director Dr. Kenneth “Ziggy” Siegfried, this award honors a male and female scholar-athlete that have made a noticeable difference on campus and within the athletics department. Honorees are commended for their community service, support of teammates and other teams along with their dedication to making the athletics department better for their fellow scholar-athletes.


Emily Hansen                                                                     Beach Volleyball


Kris Rogic                                                                             Men’s Swimming & Diving

Clutch Performer of the Year

Given to the scholar-athlete that had one or several performances where they can through in a clutch situation. Each scholar-athlete nominated showed their ability to perform under pressure and contribute to the success of their ream when it mattered most.

Dominic Ducharme                                                          Wrestling

Rudy Carvajal Community Service Award

Traditionally awarded to the CSUB team that was most present in the Bakersfield community during the academic year. With most teams unable to gather in person due to the pandemic, CSUB Athletics looked to the leaders from its teams to make their mark in a different way. This year, the award went to the CSUB Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and all `Runners who chipped in to help make CSUB and Bakersfield a better place.

Best Individual Turnaround

Given to a male and female scholar-athlete that transformed themselves and had a breakout season. This award is reserved for those that made a significant impact in competition this season while improving from the prior year of competition.


Jayden Eggelston                                                              Women’s Basketball


Aaron Charles                                                                    Baseball

Blue-Gold Award

Given to a male and female scholar-athlete identified by the CSUB Athletics Administration as both a quality student and fierce competitor. Their actions in competition and in life personify what it means to be a Roadrunner and compete in blue and gold.


Hannah Walker                                                 Women’s Track & Field


Carlos Armendariz                                                           Men’s Soccer

Kegley-McCall Award (Team GPA)

Honoring outstanding effort in the classroom, the Kegley-McCall award goes to the CSUB team that posted the highest cumulative GPA as a squad during the 2020-21 academic year. With a 3.50 cumulative GPA, this year’s award went to the women’s golf team, consisting of Macey MillsVanessa WatkinsBrandi BorjonKaleigh IreyAllie CrawleyGillian GaliciaChristy Mae Saban, and Meredith McDougal.

Heart of a Champion Award

Presented by Vice President for Student Affairs Dr. Thomas Wallace, this award is aimed at honoring a male and female scholar-athlete that has shown noticeable heart and determination in competition. The award considers heart over talent, will and desire and over playing time, and the contributions that heart makes to a specific program.


Hayley McCluskey                                                            Volleyball


Justin McCall                                                                      Men’s Basketball

`Runner Spirit Award

Awarded to the member of the CSUB Spirit Squad (Cheer, Mascot, Dance, Pep Band) who demonstrates exceptional service to the CSUB spirt program and the CSUB community through participation and leadership.

Aaliyah Beed                                                                      Cheer

Best Academic Performance

Presented to the scholar-athlete that meets much of the same criteria required by CoSIDA and the NCAA for Academic All-American consideration. Some of those factors include a minimum of a 3.30 GPA and having competed in at least 50% of their team’s contests. This award honors the scholar-athlete that most contributed to their team’s success while also excelling in the classroom.

Andie Easley                                                                       Women’s Basketball

Noah Cordova                                                                    Baseball

All-Academic Team

The team member with the highest GPA from each team is named to our ROWDYs All-Academic Team. Kegley Center staff will determine those team members following the Fall semester. Note: First-year freshmen are not eligible.


Andie EasleyBasketball
Carol Benke Beach Volleyball
Macey Mills Golf
Dome Rodriguez  Soccer
Jordan HeadSoftball
Eliana KlubnikinSwimming & Diving
Julianne FinchTrack & Field


Noah Cordova Baseball
Justin McCall Basketball
Justin Markus Soccer
Misho Mohamed Swimming & Diving
Jacob WhitbyTrack & Field
Bradley HarperWrestling

Best Individual Contest

Highlights a single, standout performance of a male and female scholar-athlete over the last year that left fans cheering and teammates talking. The award criteria include type of performance (championship or regular season), opponent, and results and importance of the victory (conference, non-conference).


Cameron Solberg & Milica Vukobrat                         Beach Volleyball


Jacen Roberson                                                 Baseball

Flachmann Award

Given to the male and female scholar-athlete who excelled athletically with strong performances all season long, while keeping grades up and making their team and program better as a result of their performances.


Cameron Solberg                                                              Beach Volleyball


Chance Rich                                                                        Wrestling

The President’s Award

Given annually to the scholar-athlete that represents CSU Bakersfield in a positive light, both in competition and in the community. This award is one of the highlights of the ROWDYs and showcases the entire body of work of a senior scholar-athlete, who is graduating from CSUB.


Vanessa Austin                                                  Women’s Basketball


Tyler Jorgensen                                                 Baseball

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest News

More Local News