Actors are always happy to get a few months between being cast in a role and the start of filming. It is time they can use for everything from research to developing small details for their character.

Nicco Annan had years to not only get ready to play the role of Uncle Clifford in the Starz series “P-Valley” but the work started with Annan helping to create the character while Katori Hall was writing and staging the play on which the series is based.

“I started this back in 2009,” Annan says. “It started a long time ago with the New York workshops but I am still learning things about Uncle Clifford.

“That is beautiful and such a gift as an artist. I am learning things about her as she teaches me things about myself like relationships and what matters most in life.

Annan’s work continues as the second season of “P-Valley” debuts Friday. It will be available on the Starz streaming service, app and on-demand platforms that day. It launches on the Starz cable channel at 9 p.m. June 3.

The backdrop for the series – just like the play – is Pynk, a popular strip club in Mississippi under the guidance of Uncle Clifford. It is a place where everyone must fight to survive and thrive especially during the pandemic.

No one is more involved in the struggles than Mercedes (Brandee Evans) who will do what’s necessary to keep the club going until she can open a dance gym. The fact new dancers are being recruited creates tension for those who are Pynk veterans.

Evans says, “I believe the fight for survival is taken up another notch this season because she is confronting the truth of what is happening in the world with the pandemic. Survival is at an all-time high for us.

“You are going to see Mercedes having to go through this journey or surviving the past, the present and the future. How does she get her dreams to come true now because it looked like all had been lost at the end of season one.”