Brandon Leake speaks his mind about ‘AGT’ appearance

Rick's Reviews

AMERICA’S GOT TALENT — “Live Finale” Episode 1524 — Pictured: Brandon Leake — (Photo by: Chris Haston/NBC)

Brandon Leake was being a realist when he stood on the “America’s Got Talent” stage during the announcements of who had won the fifteenth season of the NBC reality competition show. Despite knowing he had made it to the final completions after getting the Golden Buzzer from Howie Mandel, the Stockton native was certain he was going to finish third.

“I never saw myself winning. I knew if it was about the talent and the art, spoken word could go far,” Leake says. “But, oftentimes there is a lot more to it. Some of the most talented artists in the world never get the fame and acclaim that more catchy and hooky artists get.

“I am not catchy nor hooky. I am just a really good writer and a really good performer. I was just going to have to see if that was enough to lean on.”

It was and his win made history as the educator and motivational speaker became the first spoken word artist to take the top prize. Past winners had been more traditional acts from singers to magicians.

Leake’s returning to the “America’s Got Talent” stage for a special performance scheduled for the Aug. 11 telecast. He promises an original work for his special appearance.

The journey that earned Leake the $1 million dollar cash prize, a brand new Kia Stinger and the opportunity to perform at the Luxor Las Vegas didn’t start in his hometown. Leake was more into playing basketball than competing in debate or acting when he was in high school.

Leake is not 100% certain where his love of words started but he knows he’s always been in love with stories.